Call: 0123456789 | Email:

University of Miami (UM) Hurricanes College Football National Championship Won – 5 Wins

Miami University (UM) Hurricanes College Football Program has won five national championships. The five championships took place in three different decades in the following years:

  • 1983
  • 1987
  • 1989
  • 1991
  • 2001

The first championship was the 1983 football season, Orange Bowl victory at University of Nebraska Cornhuskers. Hurricanes achieved a 10-1 record, then ranked first in Nebraska University rankings, bringing an unbeaten 12-0 record in the de facto national championship. Hurricanes had the advantage of playing at the Miami Orange Bowl home stadium and were able to score 31 to 30 victories. The highest ranked Cornhuskers defeated Howard Schnellenberger coach Miami, the first place for the Associated Press (AP) and coaches in the year-end football polls.

In 1987, Jimmy Johnson, who later won the Dallas Cowboys Super Bowl winner (1992 and 1993), took another championship in Miami with the Orange Bowl prize at Oklahoma Sooners. The 20-14 victory at Oklahoma University on January 1, 1988 crashed an unbeaten 12-0 season with the Hurricanes.

Dennis Erickson was the Miami coach at the three or four championships, which took place after 1989 and 1991. The New Orleans Sugar Bowl prize over Alabama University gave a 11-1 Miami Hurricanes to a national championship after the University of Colorado Buffaloes lost their January 1 bowl at Notre Dame University. Before the loss of the Colorado bowl game, Buffaloes became the number one player in the country, and the Miami University was ranked second.

In 1991, UM shared the national championship with the Washington University. Despite Hurricanes completing a perfect 12-0 record and a Orange Bowl victory, Washington University has also achieved 12 victories and losses. As a result, the two programs shared the national titles in Washington when the Coaches poll won while Miami accepted the AP championship.

The latest Miami Football Championship took place after the 2001 season. Former Head coach Larry Coker in Pasadena, California, on January 3, 2002 with Rose Bowl's victory ended an unbeaten 12-0 season. Hurricanes have doubted the rule of football during the season, 14 wins at the Nebraska University

Have any Question or Comment?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *